Lecture 11.05.22, 7PM Saloon Entry: Free

Lydia Kallipoliti, Friedrich von Borries

Designing Climate Security

Forum Stadtpark – Center for Security Security revisited

Since awareness of the rapid changes in global climate conditions permeated the dominant political discourse, climate has been discussed as an essential aspect of societal security for the future. Yet, this discourse fails to recognize that the capitalist economic system is incompatible with the goals of an effective and equitable climate policy. Conventional approaches to the problem range from halfhearted reforms designed to realize the faded promise of “green capitalism” and techno-futuristic concepts of planetary geo-engineering. The socio-spatial ramifications of these strategies, as well as alternatives to them, are the focus of the second event in the series Security Revisited (Sicherheit wieder sprechen).

Hybrid event in physical space with online participation of invited speakers
Lectures in English

Online stream

The insecurity currently being experienced calls for new interpretations that differ from the conservative discourse on security as well as from a defensive, a priori rejection of the very notion of security on the part of contemporary left. This ubiquitous sense of insecurity, which has been brought about by precarious living conditions and grim prospects for the future, shall be embedded in the context of shared care and transnational solidarity. In the framework of the lecture series Security Revisited, the Section for Architecture and the Section for Social Politics at the Forum Stadtpark have invited critical and emancipatory positions to discuss infrastructures of (in)security and outline possibilities for a new politics of care.

Designing Climate Security

Speakers

Designing Climate Security

Lydia Kallipoliti, Friedrich von Borries

Lydia Kallipoliti is an architect, engineer, and scholar whose research focuses on the intersections of architecture, technology, and environmental politics. She is Assistant Professor at the Cooper Union in New York. She has also taught at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Syracuse University, Columbia University, and Pratt Institute. Her work has been exhibited widely, including the Venice Biennial, the Istanbul Design Biennial, the Shenzhen Biennial, the Onassis Cultural Center, and the Storefront for Art and Architecture. She is the author of The Architecture of Closed Worlds. Or, What is the Power of Shit (Lars Muller, 2018) and co-curator of the Tallinn Architecture Biennial 2022.

Friedrich von Borries is an architect, curator, author, and Professor for Design Theory at Hamburg University of Fine Arts. He studied architecture at Berlin University of the Arts, the ISA St. Luc Bruxelles and Karlsruhe Institute of Techology, where he received a Ph.D. in 2004. He has curated several major exhibitions including Updating Germany (German Contribution to the XI. Venice Architectural Biennal, 2008), Klimakapseln (2010), the Design Display Series (2015-2019), and Politics of Design, Design of Politics (2018-2019). His publications include Klimakapseln (Suhrkamp, 2010), RLF (Suhrkamp, 2013), and Weltentwerfen (Suhrkamp, 2016).

Vortrag 11.05.22, 19:00 Saloon Eintritt: Kostenlos

Lydia Kallipoliti, Friedrich von Borries

Klimasicherheit. Über Architektur des Wetters

Forum Stadtpark – Zentrum für Sicherheit Sicherheit wieder sprechen

Seitdem das Bewusstsein über die rasante Veränderung globaler klimatischer Bedingungen den dominanten politischen Diskurs durchdrungen hat, wird das Klima als wesentlicher Aspekt gesellschaftlicher Zukunftssicherheit diskutiert. Dieser Diskurs verkennt jedoch, dass die kapitalistische Wirtschaftsform mit den Zielen einer wirksamen und gerechten Klimapolitik nicht vereinbar ist. Die herkömmlichen Lösungsansätze bewegen sich zwischen halbherzigen Reformen, die das verklungene Versprechen eines „grünen Kapitalismus“ realisieren sollen, und techno-futuristischen Konzepten des planetaren Geoengineering. Die sozialräumlichen Konsequenzen dieser Strategien sowie die Alternativen dazu bilden den Schwerpunkt der zweiten Veranstaltung der Reihe Sicherheit wieder sprechen.

Veranstaltung in Präsenz mit Online-Zuschaltung der Vortragenden
Vorträge auf Englisch

Online stream

Jenseits von rechtskonservativen Sicherheitsdiskursen sowie von der defensiv-kritischen Ablehnung des Sicherheitsbegriffs in linken Debatten, erfordert die gegenwärtig erlebte Verunsicherung neue Interpretationen. Diese durch unstete Lebensbedingungen und düstere Zukunftsprognosen gerahmte Verunsicherung soll in den Kontext der geteilten Sorgsamkeit und transnationalen Solidarität eingebettet werden. Im Rahmen der Vortragsreihe Sicherheit wieder sprechen laden die Sparten Gesellschaftspolitik und Architektur kritische sowie emanzipatorische Positionen ein, um über Infrastrukturen der (Un-)Sicherheit zu diskutieren und Möglichkeiten einer neuen Sorgepolitik zu umreißen.

Klimasicherheit. Über Architektur des Wetters

Vortragende

Klimasicherheit. Über Architektur des Wetters

Lydia Kallipoliti, Friedrich von Borries

Lydia Kallipoliti ist Architektin, Ingenieurin und Wissenschaftlerin. Sie arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Architektur, Technologie und Umweltpolitik. Sie ist Assistenzprofessorin an der Cooper Union in New York und hat auch am Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, an der Syracuse University, Columbia University und dem Pratt Institute gelehrt. Ihre Arbeit wurde in zahlreichen Ausstellungen gezeigt, unter anderem an der Biennale Venedig, der Design-Biennale Istanbul, der Biennale Shenzhen, im Kulturzentrum Onasis und der Galerie Storefront for Art and Architecture. Sie ist Autorin von The Architecture of Closed Worlds. Or, What is the Power of Shit (Lars Muller, 2018) und Co-Autorin der Architekturbiennale Tallin 2022.

Friedrich von Borries (1974) ist Architekt, Kurator, Schriftsteller und Professor für Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg. Er studierte Architektur an der Universität der Künste Berlin, der ISA St. Luc Bruxelles sowie an der Universität Karlsruhe, wo er 2004 promoviert wurde. Er kuratierte zahlreiche Ausstellungen, darunter Updating Germany (Deutscher Beitrag zur Architekturbiennale Venedig 2008), Klimakapseln (2010), die Reihe Design Display (2015-2019) und Politics of Design, Design of Politics (2018-2019). Zu seinen bedeutendsten Publikationen zählen Klimakapseln (Suhrkamp, 2010), RLF (Suhrkamp, 2013) und Weltentwerfen (2016).